Back to the mat

Most of the time between Thanksgiving and the holidays was deliberate rest period for me. My knee had become painful again and I thought rest would be a good experience, though I did breakdown and practice a few times during that period. I am now practicing sporadically again and have practiced 3 days in a row over the last few days, which will hopefully evolve again into the 6 day week. As Woyopracmo is starting very soon I better get on top of things.

I’m beginning to wonder if I have any choice, but to have surgery on the knee. I finally went to orthopedic surgeon to have it looked at (It took them four months to get me in). They now want me to go for an MRI, believing it is a meniscus tear that can be repaired (sewn back together). The recovery from that involves having my leg in a brace for 6 weeks post surgery so I can’t bend it. Basically, I only have trouble with the knee during yoga, though running is mostly out of the question at this point. Who’s to say that even with surgery I’ll be able to practice with full range of motion with the knee…I’ve heard stories of complications and whatnot with this surgery, and increased risk of arthritis. It’s a hard decision to make as I’d like to have full use of my knee again, but the potential costs, complications, etc of the surgery don’t really make it particularly appealing. I’ve only had one surgery (well 2) before in my life and I was very young and it involved some severe complications that required a second surgery to fix. So I’m sure I’m contending with some fears left over form that experience.

Not sure what to do at this point. I’m not one to have unnecessary surgery….I’m still trying to figure out if this is necessary. The MRI is the next step so I will go ahead with that and see what the results are.

8 Responses to “Back to the mat”

  1. olddude Says:

    Don’t think of it as a cure that you may or may not deserve or need. Think in terms of a resolution to an issue that you are having to jump over on a daily basis. That little jump makes us lose focus and balance. Good luck.

  2. VF Says:

    For what it’s worth, I had a meniscus tear removed early October and was practicing two weeks later, but it was a partial removal and not a repair. I’m 40+ and the ortho said it was more a degenerative thing than a traumatic injury, and hence couldn’t be repaired (my age was also a factor). I do hear that if possible the recommendation is to do the repair although the recovery time is significantly longer and more intensive – I think it can’t be weight bearing at all for a number of weeks/months. Any bent knee posture hurt like hell before and now it’s basically perfect, so I’m a big advocate of the surgical solution whichever you choose. Best of luck.

  3. shantidave Says:

    Thank you both for you perspectives. I appreciate it. I’m feeling more open to surgery and will continue to explore through and MRI and see what the surgeon I meet with recommends based on that.

    SD

  4. Tore Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation :) Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Tore!

  5. Marinkina Says:

    Пора переименовать блог, присвоив название связанное с доменами :) может хватит про них?

  6. Gavrilin Says:

    Пора переименовать блог, присвоив название связанное с доменами :) может хватит про них?

  7. Ferinannnd Says:

    У автора очень приятный слог

  8. オテモニャン Says:

    curmwxl

    すっごいよ!
    オナニー
    オナニー
    逆援助
    SEX
    フェラチオ
    ソープ
    逆援助
    出張ホスト
    手コキ
    おっぱい
    フェラチオ
    中出し
    セックス
    デリヘル
    包茎
    逆援
    性欲

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

